Williamson County Archives & Museum
The Archives Dept. also operates the Williamson County Museum. This family friendly museum is open to everyone, and admission is always free. Visitor parking is available onsite. Come explore the events, people, and communities that shaped the history and development of Williamson County, TN.
As stated above, the Archives holds Williamson County records that date from the creation of the county in 1799. These records are available in a variety of formats including: original paper documents, bound record books, microfilm rolls, and scanned images. Available materials include: wills, court records, maps, newspapers, and more.
To get a more detailed idea of what records are available, or to look for specific county records, please click Search Collections (also linked on the left side of this page). From that page, follow the Archives Online Index link to search indexed county records. Please note, for copies of newer records, you may need to contact the appropriate county office (ex: contact the County Clerk’s office for recent marriage certificates, etc.) For guides to our manuscript collections and newspapers on microfilm, check out our Research Guides page.
Williamson County Archives was established in 1993 by the Williamson County Commission. In 2006, the Archives moved from the basement of the Five Points Post Office to the old library building across the street. The new Archives and County Museum welcomed visitors in May 2006. Upon the retirement of the first county archivist, the building was named the Louise G. Lynch Archives and Museum.